Lomochrome Reflections

Lomochrome Purple is an interesting film. An entirely new creation designed by the High Priests of Hipsterism over at Lomographische AG (aka Lomography) is it often described as a revival of the colour infrared Kodak Aerochrome, now sadly deceased as a particularly colourful parrot. However, it is more of a homage or “in the vein of…” than a revival. Lomochrome is a  C41 film that employs colour shifting to provide an Aerochrome “feel”, but is not an infrared film.

I shot a few rolls of this film in Spain where the strong sunlight of high-altitude Madrid and cloudless Andalucia allowed the film to perform at it’s best. The film isn’t given a fixed speed rating, but rather is marketed as 100 – 400 ISO, and the 35mm film canisters (120 roll is also available, but no sheets) have no DX coding. Having looked at some test shots online of the film used at speeds from 50 to 400 ISO, I decided to shoot two 35mm rolls at 200 ISO.

Experimentation is key to this film. Essentially greens are shifted to violet/purple, and yellows to reds, but this is extremely dependent on lighting conditions, with direct sunlight being essential to “strong” effects, and with shadow making changes far more subtle, or “weak”. Also not all colour shades are shifted, thus making the results very unpredictable. You are always in for a surprise!

Processing is exactly the same as for any other C41 film, though note that scanning can be more tricky. In the end, after several frustrated attempts on my Epson Perfection V550, I retreated in humiliation and took the negatives to the local ASDA supermarket, who did commendable work (as always – amazing staff who would put many a “proper” photographic shop to shame), struggling with an unwilling minilab scanner.

With all that said, pictures to follow…

 

4 thoughts on “Lomochrome Reflections

  1. I really like this purple film, I seen a few other peoples photos using it as well and they always look interesting and amazing.
    I must invest in a few rolls!

  2. Definitely do! It’s great to experiment with, just make sure you have a sunny day 😉 I’ve still got a few rolls left here, so I’m thinking of trying it out with some portraits next.

  3. I am interested on shooting a few rolls of this film. However, I just don’t accept the price Lomography is asking for this. It is too expensive for a “fun” film.
    Btw, your pictures are great.

    • Thanks! I’m glad you like them, and I’ve love to know what in particular made a positive impact 🙂

      I agree Lomochrome is an expensive film, especially given that its not “well behaved” in some ways. However I think to a degree that’s the reality of new emulsions in a smaller market – economies of scale and all, and I wouldn’t let that put you off trying at least a few rolls to satisfy your curiosity. At the end of the day, we do get a new film, and I still cross my fingers that Lomochrome might prove that a market exists for a true EIR Aerochrome replacement.

      That said, I’d like to see less packaging with Lomography products overall (i.e. my 5 roll pack of L/chrome came in five, individual full colour, thick card packs, each with silver foil and high gloss images) as a way to keep the materials we rely on at an affordable level!

Leave a Reply

